Books Review

Books Review

A book review on mini books to prepare you as you become a Data scientist

I particularly, love reading books that helps me understand my purpose as a data person in the data career field.

You can agree with me that there are many books out there that explains the data science career field but, if you are like me, you will agree that finding the right key role can be very confusing and discouraging.

So I decided to take up the idea of reading some PDF Booklets I have downloaded mainly from Linkedin and My Email Newsletter. I really enjoyed reading this booklets because it enlightened me and also increased my passion on being a data science person.

I will briefly give my review on each booklet and give you the link to access them. These books are a must read for you, if you want to be in the data career field in year 2023.

The first book is The Future of the modern data stack in 2022 written by Prukalpa Sankar & Christine Garcia.

This book is a short booklet but it gave an in-depth awareness to new and modern data stack you might come across in your respective data company.

Modern data stack like

  • Data mesh
  • Metrics layer
  • Reverse ETL
  • Active metadata & third-Gen data catalogs
  • Data team as product teams
  • Data observability

I gained a lot of knowledge about new startups that provide these new modern data stack softwares. It's really amazing as to how the data stack keeps evolving and new start-ups are emerging to cater the needs of these data stack. cool right? Download booklet here

The next booklet is 2022 Executive Guide to Data Science team and AI this particular book blew my mind. A booklet written by the ADSP Team.

It's a must read if you want to be a very sought-after Data scientist or Data engineer. This booklet gave a deep insightful clarity, on your purpose as a Data scientist or engineer working with a team or as an individual.

The focus areas of this booklet are;

  • Team
  • Machine Learning
  • Visualization
  • Tools
  • Automation
  • Deployment
  • Proving value
  • Big Ideas

I just cannot explain enough how impactful this booklet really is, I just want you to read it and enjoy yourself because it's like being taken on a journey to explore but with your mind. Download the booklet here

The next book is 21 Powerful Tips, Tricks and Hacks For Data Scientists this book really gave me new ways to write my codes mostly for exploratory analysis and text processing.

  • How to format codes using Black
  • Being aware of the tools to use as a data scientist
  • Best coding practices
  • Most important languages for a data scientist
  • Best IDE to work with
  • Python libraries you need as a data scientist
  • How to use lambda
  • Extraction of datatypes
  • How to use the .format() for text data
  • How to plot decision tree
  • The scikit-learn for data modelling

This booklet was written by the Data Science Council Of America. I'll advise you to read this booklet to be a better data scientist. Download booklet here

Finally the last booklet is called Starting a career in Data Science written by the 365 Data Science Team this booklet gave an in-depth understanding of the data science career.

The data science opportunities to explore;

  • Data scientist
  • Data engineering
  • Data analyst
  • BI analyst
  • Data architects

This booklet mainly gave insights to the qualifications, job outlook, industries and types of organizations to consider. This booklet is useful for you if getting a data science job in year 2023 is your new year plan. Download the booklet here

I have so many books and booklets I am yet to read, but each time I read them I'll give a review on them.

Thank You For Reading!!!!